Prep Your Diary: CSA announces 2017 Race Schedule

Cycling South Africa confirms the calendar dates and provinces that will be hosting the South African National Championship events for cycling events in 2017.

Photograph by Darren Goddard

Photograph by Darren Goddard

SA Road Champs
The SA National Road and Para-cycling Championships will kick off in Wellington, just outside Cape Town in the Western Cape this coming February. The race circuit will comprise the 12.7km “Lady Loch” circuit for both road races and time trials. Entries are open and you can enter the road race and the time trial simultaneously.

SA MTB Cup Series
Four mountain bike cross-country events will take place around the country and form part of the SA MTB XCO Cup Series, each of which boasts a UCI category 1 rating for the Elite Men and Women categories. Juniors will also be able to earn valuable UCI points which will form part of the UCI Junior World XCO Series. Four Downhill races have been scheduled too – two Western Cape provincials, one Gauteng provincial and a KZN event doubling as SA MTB DHI Cup Series races.

Countrywide Events
With the Western Cape hosting the Road and Track Cycling Championships as well as the opening round of the MTB Cup Series, Gauteng and Free State will also host legs of the MTB Cup Series, while Mpumalanga gets the MTB XCO and DHI Championships. Pietermaritzburg also features and will once again host an array of mountain biking events, including the SA National Marathon Championships. The National BMX Championships will be hosted in Kempton Park.


2017 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Champs
The Para-cycling World Championships will be staged in Pietermaritzburg next year. The event dates are set for 31 August to 3 September (31 August and 1 September being set aside for the time trial competitions) while the same routes as last year’s World Cup will be employed for both the time trial and road race.

Visit for more information.

Comments are closed.