Uys, Coetzer Conquer the Monster

ProNutro Magalies Monster MTB Classic pic 2Buffelspoort was a hub of excitement on Saturday, 25 May 2013 when just over 1500 mountain biking enthusiasts swarmed to the ATKV to test their skill at the challenging ProNutro Magalies Monster MTB Classic presented by ISUZU. Defending Champion, Henry Uys (riding for bryton/USN ) proved to be the strongest competitor in the men’s race, while Michel Coetzer was the lady to beat on the day.

According to Uys, the Magalies Monster wasn’t easy. “I was feeling a little nervous this morning. The tempo in the beginning was high, but I expected there to be some stiff competition today. Before the first little climb there were at least eight riders fighting it out in front. I held back and waited for the main climb. Digging deep I sprinted for King of the Mountain. I’m definitely fitter than last year, so I’m not feeling as broken. The Magalies Monster takes a lot out of you. The key is not to let up and just stay on the hammer. It’s the challenge that keeps me coming back each year. I’ll definitely recommend this race to riders as it pushes you beyond your limits. It’s an awesome event to be a part of,” says Uys who completed the 75km route in an impressive time of 03hours35minutes23seconds. Nico Sterk came in second, while Andrew Grobler finished third.

For Coetzer, the race was absolutely awesome. “The distance, the scenery and the down hills are what make this event so awesome. It’s tough, but a really good race. It’s always good to win. I placed 4th at last year’s race. I’ll definitely be back next year,” says Coetzer who completed the 75km route in a deserving time of 04hours34minutes56seconds. Laura Herd came in second, while Natalie Robbs finished third.

Sean Williams took gold in the men’s 40km race, while Derrick McEwan came in second and Louis Blom finished third. Sandra Prinsloo was the first women home in the 40km race, while Heidi Koen came in second and Kim Murray finished third.

Willem Bezuidenhout claimed victory in the men’s 20km race, while Willie Du Plooy came in second and Nicholas Van Wyk finished third. Chrizanne Latter took the top spot on the podium in the women’s 20km race, while Elaine Ruthven came in second and Alma Vogel finished third.

Did you do the race? Rate it here!
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply