7 Cyclists Named in SA Olympic Squad


The South African Sports Confederation, Olympic and Paralympic Committee (SASCOC) has named seven cyclists to add to Team South Africa’s representation at the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Men: Ryan Gibbons (road), Jean Spies (track), Alan Hatherley (MTB)
Women: Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (road), Tiffany Keep (road), Candice Lill (MTB), Miyanda Maseti (BMX)
Management: Ciska du Plessis-Austin, Nicole Shuttlewortth, Benedict Moqumo, Barry Austin, Jean-Pierre Jacobs, Tyler Klumper, Brigitte Mileson

In the sport of triathlon, three athletes have been named:

Men: Henri Schoeman, Jamie Riddle
Women: Vicky van der Merwe
Management: Riana Robertson, Lindsey Parry

In addition, SASCOC further revealed financial incentives for medallists.

Athletes who win gold will be awarded R 400 000, with the coach receiving R 100 000. Silver medallists will earn R 200 000 and R 50 000; while bronze medal pay-outs will be R 75 000 and R 25 000 for the athlete and coach, respectively.

The 2024 Olympic games are scheduled to take place from Fri, 26 Jul 2024 – Sun, 11 Aug 2024.

READ MORE: SA Lill’s Road to the Olympics


READ MORE ON: 2024 Olympics athletes Team SA

Copyright © 2024 Hearst