Team Dimension Data Rebrands to NTT Pro Cycling

Rebranded pro cycling team will use co-innovated technologies to drive performance through the 2020 season

Bicycling Reporter |

NTT Pro Cycling, the only UCI WorldTour cycling team based in South Africa, unveiled its team for the 2020 season as it rebrands from Team Dimension Data.

The new kit will be raced on the WorldTour and at the sport’s biggest races throughout 2020. It’s a brand that riders – old and new – will race with pride, as it continues to showcase the impact that bicycles have in changing lives through NTT Pro Cycling’s work with Qhubeka, which has recently distributed its 100,000th bike. The hands on the back of the pro cycling team’s race jersey are a reminder that every Qhubeka bicycle is a helping hand up to a beneficiary, which are provided through Qhubeka’s learn-to-earn and work-to-earn programmes.

The pro cycling team for 2020 features nine new riders, including current hour record holder Victor Campenaerts, to supplement the current pool of talent as the team looks to become one of the top ten teams in the world.

In the mix are just five South Africans – Nic Dlamini, Ryan Gibbons, Jay Thompson, Louis Meintjes and Stefan de Bod – with Eritrean star Amanuel Ghebreighzabhier completing the African presence, a far cry from the squad’s all-African beginnings. But to be competitive at the top level, that part of Doug Ryder’s dream has had to take a step back.

First Name Surname Country Age
1 Carlos Barbero ESP 28
2 Samuele Battistella ITA 20
3 Edvald Boasson Hagen NOR 32
4 Victor Campenaerts BEL 28
5 Stefan de Bod RSA 22
6 Nicholas Dlamini RSA 24
7 Benjamin Dyball AUS 30
8 Enrico Gasparotto CHE 37
9 Amanuel Gebreighzabier ERI 25
10 Ryan Gibbons RSA 25
11 Michael Gogl AUT 26
12 Reinardt Janse van Rensburg RSA 30
13 Ben King USA 30
14 Roman Kreuziger CZE 33
15 Gino Mäder CHE 22
16 Louis Meintjes RSA 27
17 Giacomo Nizzolo ITA 30
18 Ben O’Connor AUS 23
19 Matteo Sobrero ITA 22
20 Andreas Stokbro DNK 22
21 Dylan Sunderland AUS 23
22 Jay Thomson RSA 33
23 Rasmus Tiller NOR 23
24 Michael Valgren DNK 27
25 Max Walscheid DEU 26
26 Danilo Wyss CHE 34

Doug Ryder, Team Principal, NTT Pro Cycling:

Doug Ryder, the Cape Town-born Team Principal, is bullish about 2020, after a quiet 2019, by the team’s high standards. “Our commitment to changing lives together with Qhubeka remains stronger than ever and we’ll be looking to do so with even greater enthusiasm in 2020. Together with our staff, riders and valued partners this core belief remains a foundation of our organization

“Our pro cycling team’s story now continues into the next phase, which will see us use our established platform to aim higher and to shoot further. We truly are a team that was born in Africa but created for the world.”

What is NTT? A newly-launched technology company that brings together 31 brands including Dimension Data, NTT Communications and NTT Security to create a global ICT provider employing more than 40,000 people in over 200 countries and regions. The company recently extended its global partnership with Amaury Sport Organisation (A.S.O.), the organisers of the Tour de France and Dakar, until 2024, a partnership initiated by Dimension Data in 2015. NTT will continue providing technological innovations to enhance the viewing experience of the Tour de France and hopefully attract a new generation of digitally-savvy fans.

So, when we see just how much power Nic Dlamini is putting out on the way to his maiden Tour de France stage victory in July, we know just who to thank!





READ MORE ON: NTT Pro Cycling pro cycling road Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka

Copyright © 2020 Rodale Inc.
Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks