2022 Toyota Tour De Virtuale Champions Crowned

The grand finale of Season 2 of the Toyota Tour de Virtuale rocked Specialized Paarl, with a former national road champ taking the win.

SA Masters Racing |

Specialized Paarl was the setting for the Toyota Tour de Virtuale grand finale, where the top men and women finalists met in a head-to-head event to determine the overall of the winner of Season 2 after five leg-breaking knockout rounds.

The main sponsor of the event, Toyota SA  went all out and riders who qualified for the final were flown in from all over the country. Jacques Janse van Rensburg(TEG) was one of the favourites going into the final and he did not disappoint. He has raced in all three Grand Tours in the past, the Giro De Italia, Tour De France and Tour of Spain, is a former SA Road Champion and is currently the top Zwifter in South Africa.

The final event came down to a bunch sprint and it was Janse van Rensburg who timed his sprint perfectly to win the race and series overall. Pieter Avenant placed second with last season’s winner, Jason Miller(Absolute MotionZA) rounding off the podium in third place. Janse van Rensburg also won the King of the Mountain Jersey in the series.

In the women’s competition, the fierce duel between Courteney Webb(Roca) and Elrika Harmzen-Pretorius(CMC BB) continued with Webb taking the win in the final race. This was, however, not enough to deny Harmzen-Pretorius victory in the overall Pink Jersey Competition, followed by Webb in second and Kirsten Blend(TFC) in third. In this category, riders’ best five out of six results count towards the overall ranking.

In the Toyota Yellow Jersey competition, which was for international riders and covered all categories and also saw the riders’ best five out of six results count towards the overall ranking, the champion was Jan Lichtwark(NZBRO) . He held off a late charge by Janse van Rensburg, who only finished one point behind him. Mark Redfern(EVO) rounded off the podium. In this category the riders best 5 out of 6 results counted towards their overall results.

The men’s points competition was dominated and won by Snowy Pruett. All six races counted.

In the Teams competition, the racing teams ended up in an exciting finale, where the top two teams were separated by one point going into the final event. Great riding by the BikeconnectZ team saw them hold off the INTIME team to take the stage win and the overall in the Racing Teams Classification of the series.

In the Clubs Team Competition it was the CMC Rhinos who led the series from start to finish to take the overall win in this category. The BCC Plaat team placed second overall.

Toyota Yellow Jersey(International)

Jan Lichtwark(NZBRO)

Toyota Red Jersey (Leading SA rider)

Jacques Janse van Rensburg(TEG)

Toyota Pink Jersey (Leading SA rider)

Elrika Harmzen (CMC BB)

Specialized Green Jersey

Michael Snowy Pruett

Bikeconnectsa KOM Jersey

Jacques Jane van Rensburg(TEG)

Age Category Leaders(SA Riders only)

30-34 Alex Lindeque

35-39 Jacques Janse van Rensburg(TEG)

40-44 Waldo Zevenster(BikeconnectZ)

45-49 Mark Redfern(EVO)

50-54 Paul Lewis Enright(Raf Buddy Temi)

55-59 Neels Babst(CMC Plus) / Jorge Faria (SSE RSA)

60-64 Charles Naude(UR Cycling)

65-69 Bobby Nefdt

70-74 Johan Jonker/Nico Swanepoel

READ MORE ON: online racing partner content tour de virtuale toyota virtual racing zwift racing

Copyright © 2024 Hearst